Changing Company Security and Access Settings

When you have a staff, it’s sometimes beneficial to limit access to your PayGo system for certain groups. Limiting access can prevent accidental errors created by staff members who don’t need to use certain screens, as well as add security to your PayGo system.

Creating Security Groups

In order to set up access to different groups, you must first create the groups you would like to use. For instance, you can create separate groups for back-room inventory staff, cashiers or managers, and set different security and access levels for each.

To edit and create security groups, click the Settings & Options button on your Menu Screen. This will open a sub-menu above the button, where you will click the Employees button. This will take you to  the Employee List screen.

The Employee List screen shows a listing of all employees currently in your system. Click the Magnifying Glass button next to any employee name to access the Employee Screen.

In the Employee Screen, click the Security Levels tab. This is where you will see the Security Setup box, where you can create new security groups.

To add a new security group, click the Plus button at the top of the Security Setup box. This will take you to the Security Group screen.

At the top of the screen, you will see three buttons.

Save & Close: This will save all changes you’ve made to the security group and exit out of the window.

Delete Group: This will delete the security group.

Delete Privs and Refresh: This will delete all changes you have made to the security settings and revert to default settings.

The Security Group screen consists of two lists of functions within your PayGo system, along with a field at the top where you can name the group you’re creating.

When you’re creating a new group, the lists will be in their default settings, which is full access to all functions. Next to each function, there is a box with an X that you can check or uncheck to allow or deny access to the employees within the security groups you’re creating.

When you have named your new group and selected or deselected all of the functions you’d like the employee group to access, click the Save & Close button at the top of the screen. This will save your changes and exit out of the window.

Changing Security Settings for an Existing Group

To change security and access settings for an existing group, click the Pencil icon next to the group you would like to edit within the Security Setup box on the Employee Screen. This will take you to the Security Group screen, where you can check or uncheck the functions that you would like to add or remove access to. When you’ve made all changes, click the Save & Close button to save all changes and exit out of the window.

To delete an existing security group, click the Trash icon next to the security group in the Security Setup box within the Employee Screen. A pop-up box will ask if you’re sure you’d like to delete the group, where you can select Yes or No. NOTE: if you have any employees in this security group, deleting it will cause access issues for those employees and you will have to move them to a new security group.

Adding an Employee to a Security Group

To add an employee to a security group, click the Settings & Options button on your Menu Screen. This will open up a sub-menu above the button, where you will click the Employees button. This will take you to the Employee List screen.

The Employee List screen shows a listing of all employees currently in your system. Click the Magnifying Glass button next to the employee whose security level you would change to access the Employee Screen.

the Employee Screen, you will see the Accounts and Access box at the bottom of the screen. In this box, click the tab labeled Step 1 – Define Login Account. Within this tab, there is a drop-down field for Access Level under the employee’s Login Name. You can choose which access level you’d like the employee to have from this list. When you’ve chosen the access level, click the Save & Close button at the top of the screen. This will save your settings and exit out of the window.

You can also change access and security levels for your employee in the Security Levels tab, which is located at the top of the Employee Screen. This is where you will see the Assigned Security Group box, where you can select from a drop-down field which group you’d like to add the employee to. When you have selected the group, click the Save & Close button at the top of the screen. This will save your settings and exit out of the window.

Setting Individual Employee Access to Menu Screen

Sometimes, employees don’t need access to every button on the Menu Screen. To change access to certain Menu Screen buttons, click the Settings & Options button on your Menu Screen. This will open up a sub-menu above the button, where you will click the Employees button. This will take you to the Employee List screen.

The Employee List screen shows a listing of all employees currently in your system. Click the Magnifying Glass icon next to the name of the employee you wish to edit access for. This will bring you to the Employee Screen.

On the Employee Screen, you will see the Accounts and Access box at the bottom of the screen. In this box, click the tab labeled Step 2 – Define Menu Screen Access. This will show you a list of all buttons on the Menu Screen, where you can check or uncheck the box next to each button’s name. Checking the box will allow access to that button. NOTE: if all buttons are left unchecked, the employee will have access to all of the buttons. On the far right of the list, you will see two buttons which will allow you to either Check All boxes, or Clear All boxes on the list.

When you are finished selecting button access, click the Save & Close button at the top of the Employee Screen. This will save your changes and close the window.

Enjoy this article? Remember sharing is caring!
RSS
Facebook
Google+
http://paygopos.com/knowledgebase/changing-company-security-access-settings/
Twitter
Pinterest
LinkedIn
Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial